Posted on

The First Of Many To Come

Image

My name is Brittany Barry and I am a senior at SUNY Cortland, anticipating graduation in May with a degree in Sport Management.  A little over 3 years ago, while I was in the process of applying to SUNY Cortland, I was invited via mail to an open house dinner at the Atlantic Health Jets Training Center in Florham Park, New Jersey.  The tours and dinner were run by Sport Management interns that study at Cortland.  My eyes lit up.  I felt a sense of belonging and such a strong need to be involved in the sport industry.  I hadn’t even visited the campus yet!

I applied and was accepted at SUNY Cortland to study psychology, but I felt as if my experience at the Atlantic Health Jets Training Center truly made me realize the area I want that diploma to shine on in four years: Sport Management.  For 12 years, I had been an elite gymnast, and even in-season, I would voluntarily manage my high school’s wrestling team.  I felt such an enjoyment out of it that I even volunteered to be the manager of the varsity team here at Cortland, too!  Team atmosphere shapes who I am even if I am not a “player” on the team.  I simply love the satisfaction I get from being a part of a team I am lucky enough to work with.

So here I am, creating my next project: a blog about the CWB (Cortland Women’s Basketball) team.  The captains for the 2013-2014 season are Lindsey Minor, Sarah Shine, and Megan Touhey.  I am so excited because it is currently preseason and tryouts begin October 15th.  There are 21 girls trying out and CWB are looking to take 5 or 6 dexterous fits for the upcoming season.  As for the rest of them, they are all returning players and expected to be SUNYAC champs.  So make sure you stick around for a delightful CWB coffee break with me once in awhile for updates on preseason as we get closer to a fresh start for these ladies.

Leave a comment